Pelican Alley has an honest, uncompromising approach to food preparation, friendly & helpful service & a relaxed waterfront atmosphere. For 30 years they have been the home to a number of ghosts! Look for the man in the old Admiral's Wardroom.
Originally one of Venice's 4 hotels, the 3 story hotel opened in 1926 with 92 rooms & 16 retail stores. In 1932, the Kentucky Military Institute (KMI) began using it as their winter headquarters. It now has retail shops & condos.
The building was constructed in 1927 as a rooming house or inn. It's unique shape & massing have made it a landmark since its construction. During WWII it was home for civilian employees of the Venice Army Air Base & married military personnel.
The original Train Depot was built in 1927. It has been restored to its original condition & contains memorabilia from the days when the Kentucky Military Institute cadets used Venice as their winter headquarters.